Leiflife

By Leiflife

Lumen's Magical Realm of Sticks and Stuff

I have come to think of it as Lumen's domain: the area between two aged oaks. The oaks near the ground are coated with a lively green mossy stuff, most becoming to Lumen's furry attire. After digging around a bit and inhaling new and familiar scents, he reclines in majesty among the roots to gnaw on sticks and stuff. 

I know you have heard Lumen's own tale of his blissful association with sticks, but, frankly, I like this photo. The perspective is pleasing, and the detail entrances the photographer's eye. Also, frankly, observing Lumen's favorite outdoor occupation from a photographic viewpoint helps me to set aside my tendency to become bored with the stick-chewing business. It also helps me to appreciate that luminous puppy eye cocked in my direction, and the luxuriant ears of my gorgeous little dog. He is growing: Long, gangly legs support his skinny body, and when I carry him, his increased weight spills in a precarious way over my arm. On the trip down the early morning stairs, we are both rather nervous. Might be better to risk the puddle, than my bones or Lumen's precious self. 

The lovely little dog has slept all night for the last three, regardless of my necessary treks past his door in the wee hours.  And leaving the door to the yard open during the day (risking insects, etc.) has meant less mistakes on my studio floor. He has definitely been dealing with as many challenges as I have. We are both learning new ways of being, both adapting to one another's peculiarities. We are happily pleasing one another with our progress. I am actually pretty patient about the sticks. As long as they stay outside...

Because of my liking for this photo, I have made it a mono for an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.