school's out

On my way to work, the snow started coming down thick and fast and it continued all morning. We baked a big batch of fresh scones for a meeting which was cancelled and Gail baked and iced a cake and David and I prepared all the lunch fillings but by 11am not a single customer had graced our doors. In the light of the weather forecast, a decision was made to close the cafe so that staff could get home safely.

A similar decision was made by many of the region's schools. Here are some pupils from Dumfries Academy kicking their heels before going home. I couldn't help but noticed that many of them were woefully underdressed for the weather, in short skirts, flimsy shoes and no hat or gloves. No doubt they'll survive.

The drive home wasn't pleasant. Once I left the main road, there were hardly any other cars about, which was a blessing. I drove slowly, in 3rd gear all the way. We went for a lovely walk this afternoon, big flakes of snow falling all around us. Now back in front of the fire.

And guess what? It's bivvy night tonight! :-) I'm not going further than the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.