Beast from the East with Buzzard

I think it’s a buzzard anyway.

This photograph was taken from the train this morning somewhere between Gleneagles and Perth. I liked the way the sun was catching the snow on the high tops but it was darker at ground level. I’d set off for Dundee in an optimistic way, though wearing that curious combination of work dress and walking boots. The journey was fine. However by 1:00 pm various messages were pouring in about cancellations, snow events, red alerts etc so we concluded the day’s business early. I got the 13:54 train and it all went swimmingly between Dundee and Perth. At Perth though it was “Everybody Off/Aff” and it became clear that there were no trains going to Stirling, Glasgow, Edinburgh (or Inverness). In fact the only train on offer was going to Dundee and as I’d just come from there ...
Anyway I headed off to the bus station and discovered there that all the express bus services were suspended too. Great good fortune though - a double decker just leaving for Stirling. Unfortunately this service goes via Crieff and various other wee places and took two hours! As I didn’t really have a choice I jumped aboard and hats off to the driver I was back home about 5:00 pm. The road was pretty dodgy in places and I wouldn’t have wanted to drive a small car never mind a double decker so just as well I didn’t have to.

It’s snowing hard now and as far as I know public transport has more or less ground to a halt. Hope everyone is home safe and sound.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.