Englishman in the Balkans

By BalkansDavid

My Grandmother.

I'll be leaving Norfolk tomorrow (weather permitting), and travelling back to South Oxfordshire.

It's been cool, "chillin' wiv me mum", catching up, putting the world to right, and, well, just enjoying being uber spoiled.

Looking around the house there are still so many reminders from my early life.

Like this framed photograph of my grandmother.

She came from rural Ireland to England in the mid 1920's.

Lower class, not well educated, an immigrant.

But an amazing person who I still remember with tremendous fondness and love.

She simply would find today's lifestyle far too much to comprehend.

The photo is an old, original one, complete with creases and other superficial damage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.