misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Winter garden at end of February ...

.... before the next snow. You may spot Gracie T-t in the foreground looking out at the once tall dry grasses. The last heavy snow crushed them. She is trying to spot any moving voles who thrive out there in her bog.
The red oak tree hangs on to its leaves until spring when the running sap pushes them off.
The rains are coming this afternoon and all day tomorrow (Thursday) with high winds. Then on Friday all this colourfull garden will once again be buried in 6" to 12 inches of fresh snow. (Predicted)
So, I am getting as much outside activity done as possible.
Set out the trash bins early.
Then I drove 40 miles each way this morning to the lab for blood tests.
Treated myself to a nice big breakfast at the local Cracker Barrel eatery and bought funny birthday cards there, too. A number of March birthdays are coming up.
In case this snowfall is a big one and I get trapped inside without access to my driveway, I am prepared.
I feel confident that I could call the Oxford Library in case one or two of the young librarians wants to come over to shovel me out, but staying in is a good practice of patience. I am retired, after all, and thus I do not really have to be anywhere!
I am feeling a lot of sympathy for some blippers who are struggling with a major Siberian Beast of a Snowstorm. Just stay indoors...

Off to the library right now to get a few books and DVDs waiting for me. I wonder if I should "book" a snow shoveling appointment? Ha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.