Blizzard

What a day. Due to attend a conference in Edinburgh at 9.30. Conference decided to go ahead, morning trains were running, so of I went and enjoyed an interesting morning. Then a red warning for Central Belt was declared and the conference was abandoned. Scotrail then told everyone in the red area to go home NOW! Waverley Station was busy so I jumped on the first train heading in to Fife reasoning that it was better to get over the river and take it from there. Just as well I did as the train I had planned to get was cancelled as it seems was every other train due to head for Fife fir tge rest of the day. So I had to walk the 3 or 4 miles from Inverkeithing to my house in driving snow, making faster progress than the gridlocked cars in the Rosyth/Dunfermline area. Big, long lines of cars going nowhere, getting stuck, tempers rising, horns tooting. It was quite a trek in the snow so here is a selfie I took about two thirds of the way home. It shows snow frozen into my eyebrows and hair and gives some idea of the conditions I was in. To be honest, I actually enjoyed the walk and found it invigorating. I had a pair of walking boots on my feet so they were dry andy coat and scarf kept me as warm as I needed to be. I've been in much worse on the hills when I was younger and fitter, and on the farm where I grew up and ee had to feed hill beasts in all weathers! Tired now and should sleep well tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.