Abstract Thursday: Glowworms!

Having been prohibited from taking photos in the glowworm cave at Lake Te Anau, which we visited on Sunday, we were delighted to find outdoor glowworms at the campsite we're staying on tonight (at "Jackson's Retreat" on Arthur's Pass) - at no extra charge! Getting to them was a bit of an adventure as you had to clamber through a tightly-knit bit of rainforest in the dark with a torch, although the campsite owners had thoughtfully placed some reflective markers on some trees to show the way.

I took my tripod with me of course, and my long-suffering Editor came too to help. I experimented with various settings; for the photo in the main blip, I did a little discreet light painting with a torch to give a bit of context, otherwise all you could see on the photos was dots of light.

I then realised that I could tag it for today's Abstract Thursday as there's no theme this week - thanks as always to Ingeborg for hosting AT.

Earlier in the day we'd left Franz Josef Glacier Village without trying to see the glacier as it was still raining and the clouds were down very low. Having seen that the forecast was much better a little further north we drove to Punakaiki to see the Pancake Rocks (first extra). On the way we had to cross a single-track bridge which is shared with the railway track! - having carefully looked out for trains. The second extra was actually taken by my Editor as I was driving. (In some ways we were a littloe sad to see that they're busy building a spanking new bridge next to it so this old one won't be in use much longer.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.