Caught in the light

This morning I returned to my quilt class and caught up with the different projects everyone was working on. We meet at the local Bowling Green and while we were there the green keeper was busy watering the green in sweeps of a hose to eliminate the white dew which was sitting on top of the short grass. I'm not sure why he was doing this - but he was and in doing so he provided us with a great contrast between the lush green and the white dew.

The mist was way down again during my walk and challenging my inner blipper somewhat. However I suddenly noticed this shaft of light highlighting some autumn colour in the distance as the sun tried - and ultimately failed - to burn through the dampness. It was so grey that I wondered if the camera would even focus on the sunlit patch but once home I felt the image conveyed the feeling of the day quite well. I have been reading how other blippers find difficult light challenging, and rewarding, and so it was with me today!

My long overdue quilt is at last at the stage where I can make the quilt sandwich - where the pieced top is pinned (or tacked) to the background with an inner filling of wadding. I can now start the job I really love, which is to make the design come to life by quilting. I still have a long way to go but this is an important step forward.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.