Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Mad Dogs...

and English women go out in the midday blizzards.

The dog had a frisk around the garden while Sarah and David had a snow day - John cycled in again of course - and I had a kind of snow day (bit tricky when you work from home). As we hadn't had a boiler crisis for a week or so the central heating system obliged with a broken pipe and a flood - not essential to the functioning I am told via a telephone consultation with my snowed-in plumber, just lots of buckets needed. And I am still getting texts from DHL telling me my parcel, which was coming from the Manchester depot this morning, is "delayed". Maybe that would be due to the M62 being shut for 7 hours? 

I went to the park once the roads had cleared a little, trying in vain to capture the whirling snow vortexes whipped up the wind - harder than it seemed - see my only half decent effort in extras. The dog hurt her paw and was as pathetic as a pathetic thing - had to come home for some foot bathing and TLC. 

Sarah's college has already closed tomorrow so another snow day for her. Meanwhile my Mum in Plymouth is now getting the snow - having grown up there I can safely say they have had more snow today than I saw in 21 years. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.