Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Fed up fieldfare

This morning there was about 10cm of snow, up to about 20cm in the drifts.  Overall I think we got off lightly.  There were a few major incidents declared by the police and 100s of cars stranded overnight, including snow ploughs.  A bit of a war of words on Twitter between some motorists who blamed the police who then said they did their best to help those who had decided their journey was "essential".  They then called for a definition of "essential" but I would have thought they were best placed to define that!

Anyway, in my extras you will see Mr T wrapped up and ready to brave the freezing rain to get food for the birds, and then we tried to put some plastic lids in the water to stop it freezing.  Later he braved the snow to try and keep the snow off the food.  Despite all our efforts no one actually came to eat or drink.  Just the fieldfare eating snow.  In the third extra is the same fern that I Blipped yesterday, and the bottom left picture is where my miniature daffodils and the fish pond are!

More snow this afternoon, about another 5cm, and more forecast for tonight.  After that we are told it should start to improve.

In the absence of my daffodils I hope the nigella might suffice for Flower Friday hosted by Biker Bear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.