Today's Special

By Connections

Unexpected Visitors

Today was garbage pick-up day, which the local crows enjoy, as some folks fill their large garbage bins so full that the lid won't shut tight, making it easy for the crows to sample the well-aged items inside. I saw several crows strutting along the sidewalk (UK pavement) in front of our neighborhood's homes in search of such opportunities, as usual, but was quite surprised to see several crows enjoying the high bird feeder on our deck -- a first!

They were not bothered at all by my appearance at the windows overlooking our deck, and I have to admit that I was quite taken by their elegance (today's photo) and the variation in their feathers. Their silver legs and toes are rather special, too! (extra photo)

(I'm sorry not to be more present here, but Whatcom Chorale's next concert is two weeks from Sunday, and I, along with several other choristers, are in the thick of editing the notes about the music we'll be singing, the guest artist bios, and other material for the concert program. There are other demands on my time as well, all positive and enjoyable, but I just can't seem to get all the activities I love in balance!)

Blip 1918

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.