Tracks

I was fairly sure I'd seen the fleeting movement of deer through the wood this morning as I ambled down to the man cave with a coffee.
The forecast was mixed and I'd a course to prep, so in gap we took pooch out for a wander to the meadow, she was in a snow enhanced good mood.
The storm has moved huge quantities of snow everywhere, so fields are now mostly windswept clean, but hollows, lees and obstacles have as much as 6ft of accumulation, it made for a very interesting walk.
Mid afternoon saw a brief spell of sun, so making a husky's day, and increasing my physio step count, we headed back through the hole in the wall. Pushka is still wary.
'Our' side of the farmer's field was deep snow, but just consolidated enough  to (mostly), hold my weight. I thought I saw tracks, but as we crested the slight rise the wind was bitingly abrasive with snow crystals, and it was head down and walk on a rough bearing for a few hundred metres.  But when we could see again three pairs of tracks were clear heading towards the woods along Church Beck.
I left Pushka at the gate as I knew she wouldn't be able to make the sleeper bridge, but I didn't really think I'd find anyone, Roe are so shy. And, well, Pushka.

I lost the tracks at the Beck.
But then there he was. As curious of me as I of him. A beautiful Buck with his downy antlers. So still, so alert. Just as I saw his two companions they were off in a bound. A marvellous moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.