On Thin Ice

As I approached the lake I saw a red kite being harried by a crow and then lots of pheasants whirred into the air or trotted away from me.

I walked round on the bank and got some good shots of the ducks taking off. When I returned to where the pheasants were a lone bird flew up over the lake and landed on the ice. It was Pheasy Boy. He hadn't launched when the others did, I presume because he's my friend and not scared of me. I think he heard but could not see me when I approached from behind the Leylandii hedge and that's why he took to the air.

I was concerned, the thaw is underway. I walked to where he had landed and tried to encourage him to get off the ice. At one point one of his feet went through. I had visions of him getting into difficulties and drowning. I decided that the best thing would be for me to make myself scarce and hope he would use his bird brain. Fingers crossed he made it to the bank. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.