Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Purple flowers

Several years ago..maybe 3 or 4, Jerry came home with a couple of root sticks that he said were wisteria vines.  I was maybe a little skeptical but we planted it at the old swingset frame because it would have a place to vine around and grow.   And it  did grow and get full of leaves but never any flowers..until this year!!     The vine had gotten very long with lots of side shoots so I cut it back to leave just two vines on each plant, then gave it some food.  The roots are in the area where I rake up leaves from the yard so they have good composting dirt on them.   No smell coming from the flowers yet but they are not open as full as they are going to be. I love that fragrance! 

Unfortunately the weather is getting cold here at night for a few days..in the low 30's so I am hoping that we don't have any frost.  I think the woods will protect pretty well.    

Maybe in a couple of days, the sweet scent of wisteria will be in my back yard!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.