Houblon

By Houblon

Cabbage Patch 10

I must get better at beating my wife.

Yes Mrs H not content with beating me on the windsor half put in a fantastic performance of 1:29:16 on the cabbage patch 10. I only managed 1:36:04 but still a PB over 10 miles for me. Those are the gun times, no chip times as the race assembles in (semi-pedestrianised) Church street before the start but is only allowed onto the main road for a couple of nanoseconds before the start just in case we might delay someones trip to iceland in the car by 10 seconds. So no time for the organisers to put down a mat to time the start. We think we can take about 35 seconds off our those gun times.

This is a great race, down from twickenham to kingston across the bridge, back up by the river to richmond bridge and back to twickenham finishing at york house. Well and enthusiastically marshalled and a flat course. Also nice to run a race on some of the places where we train week in and out during the year.

Ran with Mrs H for the first 3 miles at a pace I thought was sensible (I always go off to fast) but turned out still to be too fast for me. Suffered a bit for that between 3 and 6 miles. Then got caught up by and ran with Brian for about half a mile around 7 miles, and picked up a bit at then end. Was hoping to get near to 1:30 but at least beat my last time.

No medals for this one, but a rather nice long sleeve T-Shirt with a picture of the Cabbage Patch on it !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.