Red Flash

By RedFlash

3 London Buses + 2 London Taxis

....makes 5

I kept forgetting today that I was looking for five of something and have blipped lots of fours - or I had five of something and one of them moved

Go large to check that I can count

Once again this is by the Royal Exchange as I am guaranteed to see buses and taxis queing at the lights.

This is the third Royal Exchange building and it was designed by Sir William Tite and adheres to the original layout - consisting of a four-sided structure surrounding a central courtyard where merchants and tradesmen could do business. The internal works, designed by Edward I'Anson in 1837, made use of concrete - an early example of this modern construction method. It features pediment sculptures by Richard Westmacott (the younger), and was opened by Queen Victoria on 28 October 1844, though trading did not commence until 1 January 1845.

The Royal Exchange ceased to act as a centre of commerce in 1939, although it was, for a few years in the 1980s, home to the London International Financial Futures Exchange (LIFFE). It is now a luxurious shopping centre.


The things that made me smile:

A good friend lives near the railway station and although it was dark and she is not as young as she used to be she was standing outside her house to say "Hello" as I walked up the hill to out house.

As I commute to London every day I don't have many friends in Winchester.

It was really good to see her

Exercise: I was good today and I walked across London in the mist

PS the dishwasher still isn't fixed
PPS Photo Mouse hit the spotlight - thank you

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.