Everything is going to be alright

Mr hazelh and I ventured out in the snow twice today: first for an afternoon walk along the Water of Leith to the Gallery of Modern Art, and then up to George Street for dinner at Café Andaluz with Liz and Tony.

Liz and Tony contacted us as soon as they knew that we were stranded in Edinburgh due to the snow and not travelling to Liverpool. It is amusing that our friends chose a Spanish restaurant for this surprise get-together because we had tried to book a tapas meal in Liverpool earlier this week.

My photo today is the installation 'Everything is going to be alright' (2008) by Martin Creed. It is work 975 at the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art (Modern One). This blip has actually been in the planning for a few days...

...I have some personal news to share that is quite shocking, but I hope that my blip friends will share my confidence that everything will be alright. The news is that I have recently been diagnosed with breast cancer. Fortunately it has been caught very early and I should make a full recovery after surgery and radiotherapy treatment. My operation is on 12th March.

It's been quite a task to coordinate the sharing of information about my health news. If you would like to find out more about this, please see the post entitled 'When life imitates article' on my blog.

I have also updated the text of my blips from 22nd January 2018 onwards to include details related to my breast cancer diagnosis which I couldn't disclose at the time of blipping. For those who saw it at the time, my Valentine's Day message will now make a lot more sense ;-)

Exercise today: walking (17,943 steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.