Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

All that's left

It can only have been a couple of months since I was in Spitalfields Market but I had a shock today.

Many of the independent cafe's and barber shops have been replaced by mid range clothing chains, making the initial walk from Liverpool Street feel like any other shopping precinct.

Where the daily market stall pitches used to be are now smart wooden structures sporting a new breed of market trader with much pricier wares. I found globe artichokes being sold for £3.90 EACH.

On a brighter note, Climpsons from Broadway Market have a coffee concession and  Berber&Q have a food stall here, providing a home from home for Hackney residents working in the City.

When I saw the changes I rushed to Donovan Brothers and Verde (see extra) to check they were still there. Of course the colourful print shop hasn't been occupied in years and Verde is a cafe these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.