It’s starting to get ugly...

What with the snow drifts, icy roads, power cuts, bins not being collected and now water cut it’s starting to get a bit ugly in the village.

The village has transformed from a winter wonderland to a slushy, muddy, mucky mess. And over the past few days temperaments have gone from excited to frustrated to cheesed off.

Many villagers have been cut off ranging from the elderly to families to homeworkers like me. Parents have been driven half mad by school children bored at home all week and the pressure of making World Book Day outfits only for school to be cancelled sent a few mums I spoke to over the edge on Thursday.

The water cut which began yesterday lunchtime and stretched through to this afternoon for some households was the final straw. My water came back this morning in spurts and the pressure should be fully back later tonight.

Broadband decided to have a hissy fit late morning so I decamped to the coffee shop to meet a friend from a nearby village in search of the water station for her free bottles. My friend gave me a lovely crocheted pink and grey scarf which I’ve made mono for my Blip...and as you can see from the extra image in colour it is far from ugly!

After she left I stayed put in the cafe brainstorming client projects online and reading The Times newspaper. I had a productive afternoon with one big and several smaller ideas for new projects and secured three meetings for the week.

Looking forward to being out and about for meetings tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.