A6

Just when I thought it was safe to come out ... I decided to steer clear of Shap summit In case there was black ice and headed south in good time on the M6 only to come to a grinding halt due to a jacknifed lorry. I came off to go over Shap instead but that shut too. Ugh! I was exhausted by the time I got in.
Anyway, it was very nearly still light when I got home. We’re getting there slowly but surely.


To the Thawing Wind - Robert Frost

Come with rain, O loud Southwester!
Bring the singer, bring the nester;
Give the buried flower a dream;
Make the settled snowbank steam;
Find the brown beneath the white;
But whate’er you do tonight,
Bathe my window, make it flow,
Melt it as the ice will go;
Melt the glass and leave the sticks
Like a hermit’s crucifix;
Burst into my narrow stall;
Swing the picture on the wall;
Run the rattling pages o’er;
Scatter poems on the floor;
Turn the poet out of door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.