Docadiem

By Kathee

Vintage Memories

Royals like this were long gone when I hit high school,. Replaced by smaller, snazzier manual machines. That still required  striking stiff unyielding keys.

College counselors suggested taking a typing class. You know, the ones taught by lovers of  minutiae. My class started with one- hand warm-up’s.
Like typing : aaa, asa, aaa, ada, aqa, aza.

Grades were based on timed tests. Typing non-stop from a book.
Errors. Better not make them. Each one subtracted from your WPM.

I never improved much. Finally getting transferred to Study Hall,
For not trying hard enough.

My Solution
Teach myself with a how-to book and old typewriter. I graduated typing 120 wpm with few errors. In college, my moneymaker, was making attractive term papers. Now we know some people just learn differently

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.