Mar In Urbana

By MarMilner

Cuddles Update

Well, it's been two weeks yesterday since I had taken my sickly Cuddles to the vet for another visit. She told me her condition could be one of two things. The one which (I don't remember the name of) which would be treatable (for the rest of her life). The second one was the "C" word (which I cannot bring myself to say or think about). Over the past 4 months Cuddles has been losing weight. She has always been somewhat on the heavy side. Anyway the last visit before yesterday the vet gave her a shot and a new prescription food and said let's try that and see if she will start eating better and put on some weight. Well, indeed Cuddles seemed to be more interesting in eating. By the end of the first week I thought I could see her sides (where they had been so sunken in) starting to fill back out. By the end of the second week I was sure she was gaining weight again. I was very nervous about taking her in yesterday but pretty sure they would tell me she had indeed gained some weight. Put her on the scale and held my breath. She had lost another 1/2 lbs. My heart just sunk. Now what, I said. She checked her very carefully again and said let's do another urine test. She has had several such tests at the vets we went to before switching to this vet. Tests then seemed normal. This time they were not normal. The vet thinks it's her kidneys. Can't get a kidney transplant for a cat. Well, now we have new prescription food. Wait 3 weeks and go back and see if this has helped her kidneys to function better. I am praying so hard for this to work. What would I ever do without my Cuddles?

Cuddles used to sleep with me every night. Sit on my desk everyday when I was in my office. Lay on my lap in the evening while I watched t.v. Now everyday she either sits on the floor of my bedroom or is under the bed. Right now when I got up because I can't sleep (it's 2 a.m. here) she is sleeping on the floor of my bedroom where I took this blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.