Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Little Planet - Cannock Chase

The snow has all but gone now, save for areas where it drifted in the high winds and banked up on the side of the road.  It still meant that as we drove past, one section of the A34 still had one carriageway completely blocked.

I was on crossing duty and so took the drone with me in what were very benign conditions.  I wanted to try some of the extra functions available and this is a spherical panorama, stitched together in camera!  When you consider the process we used to use, involving stretching, inverting and adding a polar coordinates filter in Photoshop, it's a lot easier.  I watched the drone, turn and dip as it captured 25 individual frames to create the panorama, taking less than two minutes from starting the photographic sequence to outputting the image.  Amazing what can be achieved these days.

It also does something similar in a video format.  It's interesting, but I'm not quite sure how I might use it yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.