A Desert Island

La Graciosa is a bimbler's paradise. There are no paved roads, no private cars, and the only map available is so inaccurate that it has to be regarded as another charming character of the island rather than an annoyance. It's quite hard to get annoyed here, although I did succeed by the end of the day!

I find relaxing quite stressful. After a morning bimble and a visit with TJ to the top of the third highest of the four volcanoes on the island, I set off on my own to claim the two biggest. They may not be very high (Las Agujas topping out at just 266m), but they are steep, covered with loose volcanic debris, and the underlying rock is incredibly rough to the touch. The descents were difficult and I did get annoyed with myself for taking several slips, which left my hands sore and cut up. I got a buzz from reaching their summits and enjoying the views they offered, but I don't feel any need to develop a relationship with them. They are abrasive little characters.

The view here is from Montana Amarilla in the south, looking north towards where yesterday's blip was taken. This small volcano can be seen in the right far distance if you refer back to that shot. They both have views of the second highest volcano, Montana del Mojon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.