lisamiriam

By LmiriamC

Exciting times!

LOL - I was so excited to see a wood duck today. Just goes to demonstrate the caliber of my days. :)  Also, I was very excited that the sun was out! Anyway, this is the best photo I could get with my camera. They are gorgeous, flamboyant ducks. I also was able to get a photo of a female wood duck but of course, she's not as showy, although she has lovely green wing feathers. My husband has a proper camera and lens for taking photos of wild life like this but his one-track is currently occupied by his classic car. Maybe he will try tomorrow.

This was taken at the ponds at the Union Bay Natural Area, which is just west of the UofW football stadium. You wouldn't ever guess it was there. The whole place used to be a big garbage dump but it is being converted back to a natural wetland over time. It's really a wonderful project. We saw several large blue herons, turtles, a bald eagle, wood ducks, shovelers, mud hens, cormorants... The heron and the turtles in the extra look like they are queued up to buy a coffee, although I know they are just enjoying the sun.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.