Twenty Naked Pentecostals In A Pontiac

I was thumbin' my way down to Baton Rouge

Standin' on the side of the road

When a car pulled over and a voice cried out

We'll take you where you want to go


I jumped inside but to my surprise

They were naked as a poor man's toes

It was a tight situation when the whole congregation

Said the devil was in my clothes


Twenty naked Pentecostals in a Pontiac

Brothers and sisters shoutin' in the back

Elders in the front, choir in the trunk

Twenty naked Pentecostals in a Pontiac


The sermon that morning was on Adam and Eve

And the ways of the dreadful snake

Everybody was clappin' when the preacher pointed at me

My body began to shake


I threw off my shirt and my shoes and my socks

Everything that I could

We were all in the nude shoutin' halleluiah

Behind a chrome indian at the end of the hood



We had the cruise control set to nintey-five

When a cop got on our tail

He pulled up beside - his eyes got wide

And the siren began to wail


We ran off the road toward the tree of life

Lord the future was looking bleak

We hung on and prayed everybody was saved

Twenty naked Pentecostals turned the other cheek.

--Chris Stuart

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.