Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Beachcombing

When the weather is better than it is today, there is nothing I like better than walking along the beach or across the sand-dunes. I usually come back with something of interest in my pocket. Some of my bits and pieces are attached to this circle of hazel twigs which hangs in our porch.

There are sea-shells, a mermaid's purse, dog-whelk eggs cases, barnacles, crab carapaces, a cow's tooth, a sheep's neck-bone, pistol, rifle and sub-machine bullets from WW2, a piece of sand-blasted green glass, a bit of Victorian pottery, a stone-age flint, an ancient stone bead, a sponge, dried sea-weed and a tangle of nylon fishing line. I'm easily pleased and don't ask much from life!

We have a similar wreath covered in beach objects collected during our days in fiji.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.