MyCountryWalks

By MyCountryWalks

Malvern Hills

I managed to do a proper walk today on the southern part of the Malvern Hills. Excellent weather conditions and still a little bit of snow left. This is an area I have been familiar for many years. I remember when I was at school being able to see the hills on a clear day.
 
I started from the car park at Hollybush, near Ledbury and took the steep track up Midsummer Hill. From here I followed the path which leads over Hangman's Hill on to British Camp. Originally this was an Iorn Age fort built four thousand years ago. Subsequently there was a Norman Castle on the site. All that remains today are the extensive earthworks which you can see in the extras.
 
I stopped for lunch at the Malvern Hills hotel and took a slightly different route back going to the obelisk (built in 1812) - again see extras. It is not in a good state of repair with some blocks missing.

The man with the bonfire was a Malvern Hills conservator.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.