PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

Outdoor Life

Bit of a blah day today. I've been struggling with a nasty flu for the last five days and even though I'm feeling slightly better today I still just want to curl up in bed and sleep.

After the sadness of losing three puppies last week I was really hoping I would have at least one puppy free week, but alas it wasn't to be.. Good news first - the owner of the puppies that I had to euthanase on the weekend has decided not to get any new ones for a little while and will concentrate on looking after her existing animals. Bad news - one of the canteen ladies came up to us today and told us she has three new puppies, had them for a week and one of them is sick... surprise surprise... then she tells us even worse news. One of her other dogs Mickey (a favourite of many of our staff here) went missing a week ago. She wouldn't even have told us if it weren't for her getting the new pups. When dogs go missing here, they don't come back. Imagining what has happened to her is just too painful and horrible to put into words.

So now Mickey's owner has three new puppies, Mickey (popular name), Den and Max. Max is lethargic, not eaten for two days and is presenting the same symptoms of last weeks puppies. I want to stay positive but just can't seem to muster the energy.

The only good thing about today has been seeing our two newset bear cubs Ricky and Joey playing in their outside enclosure which they were only given access to as of yesterday. I could have blipped poor sick little Max, but I don't want to jinx him (the last two lots of puppies i blipped didn't make it). So here is Joey, relishing the outdoor life. Excuse the blurry patches, he was too close to the fence for me to avoid getting it in the shot.


Night all from one very tired, weary, saddened, fluey nurse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.