snailspace

By snailspace

Wark-ing

We are at The Battlestead's in Wark, Northumberland. Our second stay here but certainly not our last. This time we are having two nights in a lodge room (the same room that we had last time).

Everybody here is so warm and friendly. It is a very welcoming establishment and I cannot imagine anywhere more dog-friendly. The Battlestead's has only gone up in my estimation since I found their beautifully produced walks leaflet. We picked a walk of 5 and a quarter miles to do this morning. It promised fine views and delivered as promised. The sun shone. Nell had a great time.

I was grateful on our return for the hotel's ample dog towel and supply of blankets. Once Nell was made fit for entering the room again I threw myself into the whirlpool bath with a large G&T.

Last night was the 8 course tasting menu and wine flight. Tonight we go a la carte and then go to the observatory for some dark skies star-watching.

Really, why would we not return ASAP!

More luxury tomorrow... we are going up to Anstruther to dine at The Cellar. I am very excited about that as I genuinely had thought we would never be able to do that again.

The diet starts Monday. More 5 mile walks needed, I think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.