West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Daffodils and bears

I'm tagging this for wildwed not because of the photo but because of some wild news. 

When I was travelling last year, I visited the Borneo Sun Bear Conservation Centre in Malaysia where I fell in love with (endangered) sun bears here and here. The staff told me that they planned to release some bears back into the wild in the next year. And today it happened! Borneo has two more wild sun bears than it had yesterday. Two bears were taken by truck and then helicopter into the middle of the forest, far from humans who could harm them. I hope the radio collars work better this time. The staff at the centre told me that several years ago when they released the first two bears, they lost track of them within weeks. They weren't sure if the collars stopped working or the bears didn't survive but were hoping the problem was the collar. 
Good luck sun bears!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.