Brown's Clix

By tonybrown

Stingray

This challenge reminded me of a somewhat painful experience from my youth, which I also recorded in the "chronicle" I have written for the family about my early life as a "Britbrat" (British serviceman's child brought up abroad)

We were living at the time on an army camp near Malacca in what was then Malaya is now Malaysia.

I went into the sea there twice. The first time I was stung by a (f0rtunately young and therefore reasonably small) stingray, and the second time I walked through a large jelly fish.

Each of these incidents caused me to lose two days of my life and gave the local medic chance to practice darts by throwing syringes of penicillin into my rear end.

My mother informed me afterwards that I looked rather like a fish washed up on the beach because I kept opening and closing my mouth.

But that's motherly love for you.

And I no longer swim in the sea....anywhere...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.