At the Archives

Today we met my brother at the State Archives of NSW reading room at Kingswood to do some research on the taking up by our grandfathers of Soldiers' Settlement blocks (for farming) after WW1.

I was put on to this by one of the members of our Photo Group who has done a lot of research on the topic and was very excited to find my grandfathers had been Soldier Settlers.

It was quite a new experience for us but we managed to find lots of documents and several letters written by them. 

It was moving to realise how, after putting their lives on the line for their country, the fortunate ones who came home still battled harsh conditions to make a living and repay the debts incurred in doing so. 

I was planning to put this in Markus_Hediger's experimental photo challenge but it is not really radically exposed and what was done is in Lightroom not in-camera, but I'll tag it anyway as it's a good challenge to be aware of. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.