Rhubarb Rhubarb Rhubarb

Got a lovely bunch of forced rhubarb for only £1 in Leeds Market along with raspberries and blueberries, also £1 each and all beautiful quality.
Making a rhubarb crumble and replacing some of the granulated sugar with a good dollop of golden syrup to give it a toffee taste.
Grinding up a couple of walnuts to put in the crumble too.
Just as l was about to cut up the rhubarb l noticed the colour co-ordination between my apron and some of the things l was using .
So l whipped my apron off and used it as a backdrop, got a clean tea towel and arranged the bits and bobs for a still life, probably used too many items ( less is more etc) but to me it tells a story about my time in the kitchen this morning.
Added the lemon for a bit of balance.
By the way, the rhubarb is from The Wakefield Triangle only a few miles from here.
It’s an area famous for forcing early rhubarb in darkened sheds.
I think l remember ValC telling us about a tour she did there.
I heard you can actually hear the rhubarb making a noise as it grows so fast!
Thanks to Miranda for hosting Still Life throughout March.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.