Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Christina and Samuel

Yesterday I went back to the Scottish Conservation Studio to collect the ambrotype photographs which the conservators there repaired and cleaned for me. These people are Christina Colville and Samuel Munn, my great, great, great grandparents. I blipped the ambrotype of Christina (annoyingly, especially in the week of #IWD, also known as Mrs Samuel Munn) a few weeks ago. She has been beautifully restored and put into a little case to keep her safe. Samuel has always been in a protective leather and velvet case which has kept the image safe and clear. The case itself has suffered a bit of damage and I’m so glad that it is still there to show the passage of about 130 years. Because of the way this ambrotype was constructed there is the illusion of 3D - which made taking a photograph really difficult. A bonus is that there are small pieces of paper with Christina and Samuel’s names in my grandmother’s handwriting. These pieces of paper have been securely attached to the cases. What skilled and fiddly work to make these precious heirlooms good for another 130 years. I can’t thank them enough.

It is a beautiful day and I should really be outside taking blips of spring flowers. But I have promised myself to clear the decks of a pile of neglected admin. so that next week I can finish a piece of work which has been languishing since November. I’ll have to content myself looking at the washing out on the line. Joy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.