Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Karen, Menenza and Fred

I was sorting some old photos in Lightroom when I came across this.

That's me on the left, and my Mum complete with dislocated knee, injured finger and our very grumpy cat, Fred.  We are standing in front of her beloved hydrangea bush, which one day my friend and I ran around like dervishes and pulled off every last one of the sky blue blooms. I couldn't for the life of me understand what the problem was. 

My Mum is wearing a pinny, which I know was orange and purple. I guess I am 6 or 7 so that would be 1972 perhaps, and my Mum would be in her mid thirties. It has to be said that none of us look very happy to be photographed but I am so glad I have that photo, it's one of so few of my childhood, what a contrast to my own children's childhood, which is documented by thousands of photographs. They'll never know the pleasure (or pain) of waiting to finish the film before taking it to the chemist to wait a  week for the return of 22 rubbish photos and 2 decent ones. 

I loved that cat, although he was prone to launching unprovoked attacks and terrified the life out of my friends. 

I have indulged myself with a trip down memory lane and am enjoying the nostalgia. Call it an early Mother's Day present. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.