International Women's Strike

It is difficult to pick one photo from this event. There were so many faces, so many speeches, so many moments of women speaking out: about sex workers, about rape, about abuse, about the ravages of economic war and the ways the current US administration tears families apart but does not break people's spirits. I was inspired by this beautiful collection of photographs of women protesting. It encouraged me. I posted 114 (I know, I know, too many) here, but I could have posted far more. Even after I deleted a hundred, I still have 430. The lineup of speakers was intersectionality at its best. The faces of people in the crowd were so beautiful I could not stop.

The photographer facing the march in this photo is Bette Lee. We know each other from doing this kind of work. She hasn't posted hers yet, but I look forward to seeing them. I love that we are both old women with moxie, documenting those who stand up for what they believe, knowing we probably don't have many more years of being able to keep up with the march, but going on for as long as we can.

P.S. I think I have beat back the cold germs. My physician told me whenever I'm threatened with a cold, I should put just a little tiny dab of antibiotic ointment called Mupirocin in my nostrils three times a day for three days. I did it, and it worked. She added that she would only prescribe this for someone over 70 who has had persistent vulnerability to sinus infection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.