Homeward bound with George, the bear

We reckon it took 44 hours from the time we left our beautiful lakeside lodge to arriving home this evening. We had two Wednesdays mostly up in the air as we crossed the international date line. We had the journey back to the airport, 3 flights from Christchurch to Heathrow via Auckland and Los Angeles, a coach ride to Exeter and then a bus ride home, phew, what a journey. It was hairy in Auckland as the plane left Christchurch 1 1/4 hours late and we were told the international flight would probably wait for us, it did but it was a long walk between the domestic and international terminals. At LA airport, you have to get off the plane with your hand luggage, walk quite a long way via immigration and security. All finger and thumb prints were taken and I had to have a pat down at security because I had accidentally left a hankie and a tissue in my trouser pocket. We decided we prefer Singapore airlines to New Zealand airlines who repeatedly reported that they were the number one airline voted by Conde Naste readers, I beg to disagree. Anyway, George the bear was given to us at the first hotel we stayed at in Christchurch. The label reads “ Hello there, I’m George bear, and now I’m in your special care. I’ve had the best of hotel life with warm snuggly rooms and fine foods that’s nice. Life has been good here but i’m Ready to roam, so please pack me up and take me home”. The idea is to put your travels onto Facebook but as I am not a member, he just moved around and got a bit squashed in the luggage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.