Massachusetts State House, Boston

A fantastic day in Boston.
It started in a leisurely fashion with a delicious late breakfast (homemade leek and bacon quiche by Dana) and then we eventually headed out for some tourist venues.  Dana and Richard showed us the Beacon Hill area of Boston - fascinating, as the oldest area with cobbled streets and smallish houses. At one point there was a great crash at the point where Dana and I had just been standing which turned out to be ice thawing from the roof tops and crashing to the street  below - potentially very dangerous in this area!

After a spot of lunch, D&R went back whilst John and I started on the Freedom Trail.  First off was the Massachusetts State House.  We joined one of the free tours which was very informative but, of course, I got distracted by the photographic potential in some areas where there were brilliant ceilings, staircases and people.  In one office I managed to ask one beautiful lady (Joyce) if I could take her photograph - she agreed, which surprised me as I thought this might have been a problem in a government office.  We moved on to a graveyard - where I practised a bit of zoom photography - and in one place  found a gravestone for six week old Maria who died in 1681 - a tale of tragedy there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.