Walk and Write

Something different today: a "walk and write" seminar lead by Linda Cracknell, a writer whose output includes blogs for Walk Highlands

The first half comprised a short walk along the start of the Rob Roy Way; stopping at various points to try different exercises, aimed at developing observation skills and getting us writing. This included being blind-folded and being led to explore objects bu touch. Really interesting - realising the difference between the surface of a log and the bark, not just in texture but also hardness and the difference between stones and wood. MrT guided me to a pair of abandoned boots which I initially thought were a type of fungi !  

We then repaired to lunch at the theatre followed by a more conventional workshop in the afternoon. My favourite technique was drawing a map or a walk (or an experience) and then writing about it (extra). I found it really helpful in recalling feelings at the time.

We ended by writing and then guessing each others riddles. Here is mine: 


I am seen by all but few get close
I stand tall and have seen generations come and go
My face is lined with crags 
I speckle in the sunlight (when my head isnt in the clouds) 


A eally enjoyable (albeit suprisingly tiring day). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.