Return to the North

By Viking

The human condition

Sis and I went to Hull today to visit the Wilberforce Museum.William Wilberforce is synonymous with the abolition of the slave trade and he was born in this very house in Hull. Neither of us had been before and it was a fascinating, moving and very sobering exhibition. One thing that struck me was when it mentioned at the very beginning of the exhibition how slavery had a long history and I held that thought as I walked around. As I read on about the barbaric nature of the trade in the 17th and 18th centuries I was struck by how far we have come in some ways but then not in others.afterall it is going on still in some parts of the world and largely ignored too.
The image is a double exposure of a tree of hope and a set of slave neck manacles placed against a map of the world as it was.

We were lucky on the trip out to miss being caught in a 5 car pile up on the Humber bridge. There was an almighty bang about 5 cars back from us with at least one car tangles in the crash barriers. The bridge shut behind us and was shut for a couple of hours while they sorted it out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.