New shelves and Mantel

I have finally finished the painting of the new shelves and put the books on them. It's good to see the books out again as they have been hidden in a cupboard for several years.

The mantel piece was made by our joiner from the floor joist from the old distillery which closed down 30 years ago. The wood may have originally come from America as ballast, used in the distillery then kept in a shed by a friend of ours until we arrived looking for wood.. I would call it Pitch Pine but the joiner called it Yellow Pine, they may be the same thing. Whatever it is it suits our house which was built in 1904 by a local boat builder on the canal.

This project has kept me busy all day and I still need to hang the pictures around it. The picture leaning on the mantel piece will be hung above it and I will hang some of my photo prints at the sides. I am very pleased with it all.

See here for how it looked before

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.