The colors of the rainbow

By bergfoto

Freezing cold

I was driving last night from Reykjavík to my hometown Akureyri and all the way one could see the northern lights dancing in the sky. Beautiful sight but the lights were not close enough to photograph them. I stopped  three times to try to take some photos but it was to windy and the landscape didn't interest me. Normally the drive takes 4 and half hour with no stops on the way. This time of the year we are used to have slippery roads and snow but now it was like driving in the Summer. The conditions however changed when I had only 40 minutes drive left to Akureyri. Everything white and freezing cold ... -19°C. I stopped the car once again and stepped outside to look out for the lights. I did not have all my warm clothes on and I was just wearing jeans but I was tempted to take some photos when they lights suddenly appeared. 

I don't recommend taking photos in freezing cold dressed in jeans. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.