LillyLyle

By LillyLyle

Figge the Fig tree survived the winter!

I was a bit concerned Figge wouldn't make it, as I have no spot which is shielded from the wicked winds of Wick, but it managed, though it looks a bit beaten. I re-potted it into a roomier pot today and it will be interesting to observe progress as the Spring rolls on.
Figge was a "rescue plant" that nobody at Waitrose wanted to buy, so I got it cheap and its first experience was being brought home on a bicycle. It then spent a year indoors, but I discovered during that time why you never see fig trees indoors in spite of their beautiful foliage. From time to time they emit a rather unpleasant odour. As a result, Figge spent year two in the yard behind the tenement I was living in in Edinburgh. Figge did fine and put out lovely small leaves at the very first sign of Spring.
Poor plant then got stuffed in a giant bag and rode in a lorry up to Wick.
It seemed to manage in the front yard, in spite of being whipped quite regularly by fierce winds. This just made the branches thicker.
I am going to try it against a south-facing wall this summer, though nowhere is safe from the wind here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.