Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Gnome's-Eye View

Common field mushroom - Agaricus campestris
Seen from an uncommon viewpoint.

As some of you know, I am visiting my mother in Sussex and not in Fife at the moment.
On arrival, I was amazed to find her back garden almost covered in wild field mushrooms - over 80 at the last count.

I know some of you relish wild food harvested free and fresh from the autumn woods but . . .

On the advice of an 'expert' three years ago, We ate some but were not impressed by the taste which was nothing like what I expected. There were no adverse symptoms/reactions though.
This year, I was further put off when I picked one, broke it in half, and saw maggots crawling through he flesh of the cap. Needless to say, they are still gracing my mother's lawn but rapidly approaching an advanced stage of maturity. They will all be going soon as the grass is dur to be cut before I leave.

The observant amongst you will have spotted the water droplets on the grass - yes - it has been yet another day of constant mists. However, it was fair enough to get a lot of weeding done. Did you know that convolvulus/bindweed roots go for miles and miles? - often prefering to lurk amongst the roots of woody perenniel shrubs.

Tomorrow is supposted to be a little better but I don't know what I might blip - most of the day will be taken up on a trip into town (Brighton) shopping for Christmas presents for those members of the family still living in this neck of the woods.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.