Tongariro Alpine Crossing - not

4 km along a track and boardwalk through the valley (see extra)  to get to this sign. Should I turn back?. The guide book said the walk up to here was suitable for children and the elderly. The sign said you should only carry on if you are fit. Mr P suggested I carry on for another km or so to a plateau with  a crater and a lake. Big mistake, it was sooo steep that after  a km of steep steps my legs were quivering and I felt faint. I turned back leaving Mr P to find the crater.  Mr P had been planning to do the whole 20km Alpine crossing tomorrow but a tropical storm is coming through so plan B is a shorter walk today with me.   Mr P took a picture of the crater when he got there and I did not miss much. Yesterday's crater was more scenic.Yesterday's picture here.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.