Mrs Cyclops

By MrsCyclops

Snowy Midsummer

This evening Cyclops and I went to see A Midsummer Night's Dream at the Lyceum. I'm no huge fan of Shakespeare but I did think if I was going to see one I might prefer a comedy. And I've seen this one before.

I enjoyed it.

The staging was stunning, very very aesthetically lovely with a clean and sparse set (with snow) working really well with a a beautifully costumed cast. The teeny fairies were delicate and pretty. The main characters looked a bit like they were about to enter the Crystal Maze in bright coloured outfits but it all worked very well together.

Bottom in particular was terrific, just the right combination of arrogant, ridiculous and hilarious. The fight between Lysander and Demetrius was also very funny.

I saw something of Bubble from Ab Fab in Puck, and something of Sue White from Green Wing in Titania - but maybe that says more about me than them...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.