Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

The power of t'internet...

I bought an old suitcase/hat box in an antique shop in Carlisle, Pennsylvania in the 1990's.  I was drawn to it because it had been transported on SS Mauretania, luxury liner that my Great Grandfather was a cabinetmaker on when it was built on Tyneside in 1906.

 I Blipped one side of this suitcase 4 or 5 years ago and Blipper Ceridwen kindly searched the name for me.  

Mr Hoza turned out to be a Bata Shoe Executive.  I contacted the museum in Maryland where Bata had a factory in 1940's and they sent me this photograph from a local paper of the day.

I check the case from time to time to make sure it's not deteriorating beyond repair.  Did that this morning and took a set of pics for comparison. It's holding up well for something over 70 years old.  Wish I could say the same ;-))



The extras show the provenance of my $60 find.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.