Necropolis

Today I have been treated to lunch at the excellent dog friendly Drygate Brewery in the east end of Glasgow. After eating (a lot) we all went for a walk in the Necropolis. This Victorian cemetery covers 37 acres adjacent to St Mungo’s Cathedral. There are 50,000 people interred here. Some graves are marked with modest stones and others with enormous personal mausoleums. The main blip shows, among other memorials, the Celtic cross designed by the famous architect Charles Rennie Mackintosh. The cross marks the grave of one of Mackintosh’s father’s friends. I’ve included an extra to show some of the avenues of grave stones in the Necropolis.

Back home now and it’s turned into a beautiful, mild, sunny afternoon. I should really be in the garden sorting things out but I’m actually going to sit and read my library book for a while before I have a very early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.