Docadiem

By Kathee

AROUND THE FINAL TURN
Race 3: Rillito Park: The Thoroughbreds
4 Furlongs (1/2 mile)


Here’s my favorite track angle, but one I avoid. 
To get above the rails and chain link fence,
I must climb the unstable metal bleachers.
The top’s not bad, unless it’s breezy.


The problem,The go-down.
Especially, for a klutz like me, 
Carrying a camera whose weight tugs me downward.
Anyway. Made it up and down twice without incident.


It’s a tight race at this point, but
Far right, Daniel Aguilar (yellow silks) 
Rides Barbaric to the winners circle.

Check out the jockey in blue silks. 
That’s Don French, older than dirt I believe.
Heard he was a top jockey in the 60’s.
Today, he rode Trigo Padigo to a second place finish.
Still got the touch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.